Phenomenon

I am a huge fan of Sarah’s writing on Huntington’s Disease and Me. This piece really touched me, as it’s an issue that has caused conflict in my own family. Who suffers more: those with HD or those living beside someone with HD? There’s no right answer, folks! We all suffer, in our own way and our own hell. Sarah’s view is so painfully real here, though I imagine those who love her may see it differently. We all walk a hard road with HD.

Huntington's Disease and Me

In the film “Phenomenon,” John Travolta’s character was suddenly able to do amazing things with his brain. Turns out it was because he had brain cancer and (spoiler alert) he died. The end.

Yesterday I had a moment of clarity that reminded me of that film. I wasn’t doing math problems or anything like that. I realized, and as of yet I can’t un-realize, that I have already been seriously screwing with and screwing up the lives of people I love.

I had been projecting into the future my fears of what my family and friends would have to endure as the HD gnawed away at my brain. But the show started without my consent or knowledge. I realized that I’ve been participating in antics, complaints, neuroses, and paranoia. I’ve been demanding, unreasonable and impossible for years already, without even considering that this might be the case.

The people who care…

View original post 195 more words

About Dawn Quyle Landau

Mother, Writer, treasure hunter, aging red head, and sushi lover. This is my view on life, "Straight up, with a twist––" because life is too short to be subtle! Featured blogger for Huffington Post, and followed on Twitter by LeBron James– for reasons beyond my comprehension.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

