The Ice Bucket Challenge: After The Ice Melts

I haven’t written here in a long while… for all the reasons explained in here. It makes it that much harder to really maintain my denial. While I pride myself on a direct, honest approach to life in general: Carpe Diem and all, I live in a perpetual state of avoidance with Huntington’s. It seems enough to watch those I love suffer; it’s been too hard to write about it regularly as well. Here is a post that I wrote for my blog Tales From The Motherland.

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Like so many people in the past few weeks, I recently did the ice-bucket challenge for ALS. I was challenged by a cousin, and I in turn challenged four people. Honestly, I was tempted to skip it and just send a check; I’m not big on the social medial challenges. It’s not that I don’t believe in the causes, it’s just that I know I can send a check without jumping in ice water, or posting a provocative status update (something a good friend took me to task for in the breast cancer trend). However, I loved that my cousin and her adorable daughter nominated me, and so I did it.

At the time, I was seriously news deprived and behind on a lot of things, having spent a lot of this summer traveling, visiting people, or having house guests here with us. My two eldest kids have been…

View original post 1,647 more words

About Dawn Quyle Landau

Mother, Writer, treasure hunter, aging red head, and sushi lover. This is my view on life, "Straight up, with a twist––" because life is too short to be subtle! Featured blogger for Huffington Post, and followed on Twitter by LeBron James– for reasons beyond my comprehension.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

