Friday Fictioneers: Remember Me

It’s Friday Fictioneers— my weekly dose of flash fiction, from a photo prompt. Rochelle Wisoff-Fields brings us together, with photo prompts from various sources. The challenge is to write a story with a beginning, middle and end, and only 100 words.  Check out other stories on Rochelle’s page, here.  My story is 99 words.

Image: Sandra Cooke
Image: Sandra Cooke

“I want to do it on my own, James.” Geraldine’s voice hinted at a whine, she hated to hear. She cleared her voice and continued. “I’ve waited thirty years to explore these ruins again; I refuse to let my… illness, keep me from it.”

“Darling, Huntington’s can’t keep you from that— There’s a railing; please use it.”

“More cold medal, another reminder that I can’t walk on my own anymore.” She paused, afraid she’d cry.  “I want to walk, and remember how sweet it was, the day I met you here.”

“Then take my hand, love. Take my hand.

As soon as I saw the photo this week, the railing jumped out at me. It struck me as jarring to see ancient ruins with the dark line of the rail, running through the view. And then I began to think about the people who rely on that rail. The story was right there.

This post is dedicated to my mother, my aunt, and my grandmother, who all lived with Huntington’s Disease (learn more here), and remained fiercely independent to the end. It’s dedicated to my sister who fights HD, and holds her husband’s hand, because she loves to. It’s a reminder that we don’t need to go it alone.

As always, I appreciate your feedback: positive or constructive, and welcome any comments.

About Dawn Quyle Landau

Mother, Writer, treasure hunter, aging red head, and sushi lover. This is my view on life, "Straight up, with a twist––" because life is too short to be subtle! Featured blogger for Huffington Post, and followed on Twitter by LeBron James– for reasons beyond my comprehension.
This entry was posted in Huntington's Disease, Huntington's Disease blog, The Huntington's Chronicles, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Fictioneers: Remember Me

  1. MissTiffany says:

    Wow. What a poignant piece. I really like your take on the prompt. It’s a wonderful tribute to the people in your life you have lived with Huntington’s Disease.

    • Thanks Tiffany. I saw the picture and thought of a couple of different directions, but the railing kept jumping out at me. The story is always with me, so I guess it just needed to be central stage right now. Thanks for your time, and feedback. Much appreciated.

  2. I don’t know if I’m doing this correct, but I like what I read about Huntington’s. The story is very well written, emotional (so far) and very moving. I love it. Thanks for letting me read it! Nan

Leave a Reply

