Christmas with Mom, a Dark Wish for Santa (Writing Contest Entry)

There was little else I thought about… for weeks on end.

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

As Christmas approaches, I lie beside my Mom each day at the Hospice House, and find myself wishing for one thing: peace for Mom.

“Dear Santa, please bring my mother a peaceful death. Take away her fear. Please let her be finished with this horrible battle, against Huntinton’s Disease, that she can’t win. She can’t write anymore, but she asks for this each day.     Thank you Santa, a daughter.”

I write this letter with heavy heart. I have had so many wonderful Christmas memories with my mother, and she has given me so many gifts.  This gift I wish for her.

 

***  This is an entry for a Christmas writing contest:  memories with your mother or grandmother. The host is http://warnerwriting.wordpress.com/ and her blog is really worth checking out. Things I Want to Tell My Mother, is a blog written to a mother with Alzheimer’s.

View original post

About Dawn Quyle Landau

Mother, Writer, treasure hunter, aging red head, and sushi lover. This is my view on life, "Straight up, with a twist––" because life is too short to be subtle! Featured blogger for Huffington Post, and followed on Twitter by LeBron James– for reasons beyond my comprehension.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

