Brain Dead… Take her off Life Support.

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

I uttered those ^^words to a good friend, the other day, when she called me to check in… as she’s done regularly since Mom died, three weeks ago today. Hmm, I know I will reach a point when I’m not counting days and weeks, keeping track of the time that’s passed since she “passed.”  I’m keenly aware of the stages of grief and loss. I have a rusty MSW; I trained as a bereavement counselor two years ago, and I’ve had lots of personal experience (as some of you have read (too) much about, recently). I know that “this too shall pass.” I understand that the cards will stop coming; my friends will stop checking in on me, and will return to simply calling me to give me shit about stuff or make plans. The concerned tones and the hugs will disappear. I will move through this, and be surprised…

View original post 1,891 more words

About Dawn Quyle Landau

Mother, Writer, treasure hunter, aging red head, and sushi lover. This is my view on life, "Straight up, with a twist––" because life is too short to be subtle! Featured blogger for Huffington Post, and followed on Twitter by LeBron James– for reasons beyond my comprehension.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

