365 Regrets, Blessings, Lessons.

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

All week I’ve found myself tearing up as I drive past the road that leads to the nursing home where my mother lived. I pass the road to Hospice House, where she died December 31, 2011, far more often and rarely think of it. Yet each time I pass the road to where she lived, my eyes burn and my thoughts swirl. It’s incredible to believe that one year ago, 365 days, we were celebrating her 68th birthday. I wrote the post Ode To Birthdays Missed last year, as I struggled with the progression of her Huntington’s Disease and the inequities I saw in her life and my life with her. When I wrote that post, I had no idea that two weeks later she would fall and break her elbow, end up in hospice and die two+ months later.  A broken elbow was not how I imagined it…

View original post 1,322 more words

About Dawn Quyle Landau

Mother, Writer, treasure hunter, aging red head, and sushi lover. This is my view on life, "Straight up, with a twist––" because life is too short to be subtle! Featured blogger for Huffington Post, and followed on Twitter by LeBron James– for reasons beyond my comprehension.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

